Posted in Personal

Reading Challenge – Updates

If you remember, I had done a post in December regarding how I am doing a reading challenge this year and have been reading books for the same. There are still a lot of categories for me to cover in this challenge, but let me tell you about a few that I completed.

There was a category called Read a book you have read before and I had a few of my favourite books lined up for this. One day while watching the idiot box I saw Harry Potter and immediately wanted to read it again. Its one of my favourite books having grown up reading them. I decided I would read only one but ended up reading the whole series again and reminiscing my memories. Ohh I still love these books. I know they have quite a few flaws or logic which I now question being an adult, but I really don’t mind them as the books are supposed to take you to a whole new world itself. What’s a little bit of logic to do with it.

Anyways, the next category I was keen on reading was – Read a book about books. I read a book called The Man Who Loved Books Too Much by Allison Hoover Bartlett.  When I read about the book, I thought it was about a person who steals books because he loved to read them but the reality was something else. I was looking forward to reading this book as the topic interested me so much, but somehow it did not satisfy my soul. Generally when I pick up a book, I continue reading it till I complete it. But somehow I couldn’t get myself to complete the book. It could not hold my attention for too long. I will post a review on it soon but let me complete it first. I now need to get myself to open the book and finish it. Hopefully you’ll hear about it from me soon.

Another category in the list was Read an all-ages comics. I chose to read Tintin comics for this category. I love the Tintin books. All the characters in the comics are so lovable and beautifully written with a purpose to add something to the comics. I especially love the two detectives Thomson and Thompson.

There was another category called Read a fantasy novel. For this I have started reading the series of Game of Thrones. I have already finished the first book A Game of Thrones. Currently I am reading the second book A Clash of the Kings. Having seen the series, I was quite happy to pick this novel to read. The only thing is I am reading it really slow as I have to prepare for my GMAT too. But all in all I am enjoying the books. The books have quite a lot happening in them unlike the series. But the TV series captured the essence of the book and the important scenes too. Let’s hope the reading continues at a good pace and I can complete the second book soon.

Ohh by the way, I also joined our local library but haven’t made full use of my membership there. I know I have been away for long but that’s because of a few developments in my life including studying for GMAT. I’ll tell you others in the coming months.

Have you read any of these books? Do share your feedback too.

Also I have to pick a book for the category Read a travel memoir. Do you have any suggestions for the same?

2 thoughts on “Reading Challenge – Updates

Leave a Reply

